A Wake-Up Call

“I love you, please don’t die.”

My wife’s words in my ear as I lay semiconscious in the ICU after my stroke. Last Rites performed in case I did pass away. Terrible to think what I may have done to my family. But I survived.

So began the arduous task of recovery. And therapy; having to learn again things I used to do without thinking. And medication; something I did not even consider, knowing full well I have a family history of hypertension, which most likely caused the blood clot that led to my stroke. That, and obesity with a sedentary lifestyle thrown in.

Six weeks later and ninety pounds lighter, I left the hospital and continued out-patient therapy. And began a lifetime of continuous medication.

Talk about a wake-up call.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

